Beeplenish polish…

I was sent (along with, I suspect, lots of other turners) a couple of small pots of a new wax polish in the post the other day from a company called Beeplenish. All they asked was that I try it and see what I thought, but I thought it might make a small post here.

The leaflet that came with the wax explains that there are only natural ingredients, no turps, mineral oils, or other additives, and the wax is food safe. The packaging is 98% recycled to, so full marks for environmental care.

I tried it out on a template finial that was on the bench, and it’s nice wax to apply, not being a hard set wax, and buffs to a nice sheen. It travels well with friction, and covers very well indeed. I didn’t notice any problems with ring formation, but frankly didn’t expect any from a soft wax.

I wondered how the market could support another wax, but after trying it I think I’d use this for utility objects only. The anti-microbial properties make it perfect for salad bowls, plates, drinking vessels Etc., and offers an alternative to mineral oil which has environmental issues attached to it. The other advantage of course, is that being a wax you can achieve a nice warm glow which takes work with an oil.

As many customers are now also environmentally aware, and will often query which finishes you use, it could well be a small selling point.

I have no idea what the price is, but can’t imagine it being prohibitive. I’d certainly choose it for utility wear from now on.

2 thoughts on “Beeplenish polish…

  1. Nice to see you waxing lyrical Andy! Nobody sent me a sample, so I guess I’ll just have to buy some, like the rest of us poor amateurs. Hope your wood is drying out, without too much more loss. Reg

  2. Terry Scott Here from New Zealand http://www.timberly.co.nz
    Down Under Bee replenish is sold under the Bee Kind due to some other product having a similar name up your way
    I have been using their waxes for 3 years
    My customers that buy my craft /utilitarian items love the fact that I use an all natural finish that is non toxic
    Because of the canuba content it doesnt leave finger prints like allot of the soft waxes on the market
    My application method is to wipe on liberally let sit for 15 mins then buff with a cotton cloth .The silky feel the product has once finished I am sure helps to sell my work
    When I sell a salad bowl I supply a pun net of the wax amazing how the customers appreciate this
    Only to happy to endorse the product and answer any questions on its use
    Another thing in its favor is half the price of other waxes that contain many nasties
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

